For over 100 years, the house and shop on the corner of Cambridge Parade and the Royal Esplanade has been doing business with visitors to Manly. In the early 1900s, it was where weekend visitors could hire tents to erect on Manly Beach, now known as Manly Bayside Park.
Manly Creative Markets and Jan Powers Farmers Market are held in Little Bayside Park.
For over 100 years, locals and visitors purchased fish and chips, bait and cold drinks for their day at the Bay.
Image above (1910) shows the house that used to hire the tents for weekend campers, prior to the shop being added
Image above (1915) shows the Fish Café top left
The ‘shop’ was converted into a quaint café overlooking Waterloo Bay, and in due course, the Manly Boat Harbour. For many years, it was named “Café on the Bay”, and had an enviable reputation that attracted people from near and far.
In early 1990, the name was changed to “The Fish Café” and once again, in addition to the in-house dining, take away fish and chips by chefs was available.
For the last 19 years, Clayton Debenham has been involved in running this iconic business in Manly.
But it is time for a change. Clayton is handing over control to an exciting young Brisbane chef, Jonathan York. Jonathan’s culinary journey has seen him working in the kitchens of a number of notable Brisbane restaurants including Char Char Char, The Summit at Mt Coot-tha and The Emporium Hotel.
Closed for a short while for a kitchen refit and general face lift, it will be open for December Christmas trading with a new name, a new look, and an exciting new dining experience. Watch this space.